My One Pound Challenge: A Business Adventure from £1

Hello and welcome to a quick look back over My One Pound Challenge year. 

On 1st June 2013, just 2 days after my final University exam, I embarked on what would turn out to be an incredible year long business adventure!

2013-05-27 15.36.21

With just a £1 coin in my hand (which incidentally I had found a couple of months before) and a year dedicated to make it grow, at 8am I set off to make my first investment, a bottle of washing up liquid, and begin phase 1 of my challenge… working hard!

2013-06-01 08.49.11

As the months passed my investment grew, new opportunities developed and I found myself in a wide variety of working situations all in the effort to continue working to the best of my ability and ultimately grow my £1 into my first graduate salary.

2013-06-02 20.52.442014-04-11 14.52.312014-05-02 15.07.46

Now, a year later, my £1 has grown to over £20,000!  

Growth Chart

Reflection…

Looking back it is interesting to see how my investment grew. To be honest I did not know what would have been possible in a year, I just made sure I kept taking every opportunity as it came based on the current situation I found myself in. With hindsight I would now know what I would have avoided and what I would have pursued further, but that is all part of the adventure that enriches the story of a £1 investment growing to over £20k!

2013-09-30 15.10.43 2013-08-02 17.32.59

Over the year I have generated:

  • A Turnover of £38,500+
  • Over 100 different job opportunities
  • Over 220 Facebook page likes
  • Over 1000 twitter followers
  • 42 blogs with over 6000 hits
  • 28 Video’s with over 1000 views
  • A popular website with over 7000 hits.

More than a Salary…

This business adventure was more than me just earning some money. I wanted to inspire people who are struggling for money that there are options out there to earn some extra cash to avoid going into debt. And I wanted to encourage those who are wanting to start their own business but cannot get a loan that it is not the end of their dream, there are other more rewarding ways to get your business off the ground without a vast capital investment. I hope that through my journey this has happened.

This is not the end for My One Pound Challenge… 

Over the next few months please do keep an eye out for new releases from My One Pound Challenge as I tell more of the story of my journey from £1 to £20,000 in one year!

I plan to put the year into pictures through a short inspiring video and onto paper through a book of my journey and what I have learnt.

Also I hope to be able to publicly speak about my journey to a variety of people and maybe even release a little ideas app for your enjoyment.

Until then… 

For now please do share the story of My One Pound Challenge.

You can keep up to date with more news from My One Pound Challenge by subscribing to my mailing list on my website, Following me on twitter @pound_challenge or liking my page on Facebook.

Thank you again for all your interest and support throughout my business adventure and I hope you are encouraged and inspired to step out into being the best possible person you can be.

Alan

 

1 thought on “My One Pound Challenge: A Business Adventure from £1

Leave a comment